Hello Again

I have been away from this for a long time, having been pretty preoccupied with other things. The job search has been really bad and I got seriously screwed over by one company- thousands of dollars screwed over- then I was offered a job at another place, only to have the offer withdrawn a few days later. They told me a guy on a leave of absence wanted to come back. I think he had left for another company that changed its mind about hiring him.

I had been planning to see my foreign girlfriend before starting that job, but delayed telling her because I had the feeling somehow it wasn’t a sure thing. I figured this would be a good chance to talk seriously about the future and getting a fiance visa. Then I let it slip, and she was really excited, so I used my airline miles to go see her for two and a half weeks.

But we had many problems. She is very jealous and gets angry at me very easily. We had problems before but this time it was much worse. I think she is ambivalent about the relationship and has been for a long time. I can’t blame her, as I have not had a steady job for a year and a half, and she is sick of the long distance relationship.

I just don’t know how to deal with angry, emotional women. I suppose the answer is “don’t”. I had one girlfriend who was pretty crazy, but it didn’t really bother me because I never was heavily invested in her. I had been hoping this would work out- I am sick of looking for love, it’s a difficult process and I don’t know if I can go through it again.

Matt Groening once said “Heartbreak is light and lively compared to unemployment.” I have been thinking a lot about how utterly critical decent employment is to life. I have actually made decent progress in my life when I had a job. You are relaxed and have money to spend on activities and self-improvement.

I have always wanted to get married and have kids. I have wanted to have two, but my foreign girlfriend seems pretty overwhelmed at the thought of one- she didn’t want to have kids particularly before meeting me. A sister recently had a baby, and she is crazy about him, but always talks about how hard it is with a kid.

I don’t relish the prospect of being an old bachelor. Neither my brother or sister has kids, so I wouldn’t even have a niece or nephew to visit me in the rest home. I don’t like the idea that other people fucked me up so much I can’t even complete a basic goal in life. But I guess we will see.

Hopefully I will get a job soon but the job market seems to me to have changed permanently for the worse. There are fewer jobs and they pay less. But you are lucky to have any job. I go to these job seeker groups, and they all tell you to network. But the only people you can network with are other people looking for jobs.

Well, there’s a little grim news from Omega Man to darken your day. Hopefully I’ll have something more positive in the near future.

8 Responses to Hello Again

  1. Socialkenny says:

    We need to see some more posts from you bro’.But I get where you’re coming from.

    I’ve been unemployed for a year now,skin can relate.Looking forward to more content though.Feel free to check out mines,then my followers will check out your blog and increase traffic and readers.

  2. blackdude says:

    work at fedex/UPS and be a slave, you can be a driver or a sort person…. Fedex pays well if you find a sort facility at your local airport.

    Minuses- it sucks and you might seriously damage an airplane, Ive seen it happen first hand. Or ya might get injured.

    Pluses- Ya get to take out your rage on people’s fancy stuff… ya seen the vid of the fedex driver throwing the package over someone’s fence? Ya…. that IS fedex. Im probably standing on top of your new laptop rite now lol….

    Unemployment is a BITCH- I just got my undergrad and work this shit job, PART TIME and still live at home. EVERYONE IS GOING THRU HELL. I hope the economy turns around bc i feel like what should be my best years are being squandered…..

  3. Ambiance says:

    Is the job market really that bad? I understand that you may not get the job you want right now, but if you want just any job, such as a being an office assistant for $15 an hour or something – you already know how to use a computer, can’t you do that?

    And dude, women should add to your daily mood in life, not subtract away from it. Once you get a job, go to plenty of fish and Email 20 girls a day and get 2 dates a week (cheap ones, only one or two drinks at an average priced bar involved). It’s all a numbers game, something will work out.

  4. Jason says:

    I’m with you, Omegaman, also unemployed and trying to maintain some semblance of “sex rank” vs. my wife (I follow Athol Kay, too). I can’t say if you should invest more in this relationship, or focus more on issues and opportunities closer to home. But, I would look at what you’ve already gotten from the relationship as “positive”, but not a reason to sink more effort in, if you’re not inclined.

    Also, I’m glad to see you back.

  5. Good to read something from you again, Omegaman. Even if it’s ”grim”. Many of us can relate to grim and dark days, so we don’t mind.

    As a socially-unskilled omega, it irks me to hear over and over that networking is good for finding work. When one has an avoidant personality, it sucks that one of the best ways to find a job involves yet more of that interpersonal interaction that you’re no good at! It’s tough enough trying to find work that minimizes social contact.

    Good luck!

    • The problem with networking is usually you can only network with other people looking for jobs. If they know of something not good for them or one of their friends but good for you, fine, but it’s not all that likely.

  6. sestamibi says:

    I know the feeling. Two years ago I went for an interview for a job that practically had my name written on it. Difference was at least I was working and was dealing from a position of strength. These bastards didn’t even have the courtesy of getting back to me, so after six months I told them in no uncertain terms where to go. I was 59 at the time, and it was truly exhilarating not to have to worry about my “career” direction with little “career” left to worry about.

    I retired from the state agency I worked for last summer after twelve years there. During my time there, the place became completely cuntified to the extent that just about every top position there is held by one, and there is now exactly one white male left in the department in which I worked.

    I suppose I too could pursue an office flunky type job, as Ambiance above suggests, but I plan on starting up social security later on this year. That, with my current state pension, and another one on deck in about three more years, will relieve me of the need to work at all. And believe me, after putting up with the cuntification of all my work places over the years, it will be delicious revenge to be a taker. Let THEM pay for ME for a change!

    All the best in your job search. I know how tough it is to get laid these days (since I didn’t get married myself until age 46), but men shouldn’t have to starve to death as a matter of government policy that encouraged cunt married to men making $150K to compete with single men for $50K jobs.

Leave a Reply

