Cruel Summer

Sorry for having been away for a while. I’m in the same situation, looking for a job. I went to get a haircut the other day, and the lady asks me “So how things today?” “Pretty much the same as every other day” I replied. “Like Groundhog Day?”

Yeah, kind of like Groundhog Day. I wake up, read crap on the internet, check for jobs, apply for jobs, read more crap on the internet, eat something, take a shower, leave the house, maybe eat lunch out- although I’m cutting back- go to the coffee shop and idle my time away.

I have been to various interviews, but with no success. Buying air tickets in the summer without much notice is not cheap, and it pissed me off to spend close to $1000- after hotels and food- and get nothing. On the last one I think the guy who called me for the interview liked me, but maybe not his  boss. I was going to check back with him last week but I’ll try this week.

At one interview I took a bunch of tests, and was offered the opportunity to talk to a company psychologist about the results. I was pretty apprehensive about this- I was not offered the opportunity to go further, and I thought it might be ’cause they figured I was psycho. What they told me was I have a wonderfully balanced personality but could work on being more assertive. I guess I was able to successfully fake the balanced personality part.

Looking at the comments there was some weirdness. I don’t moderate comments, or ban people because I think people should be able to have their say. That’s not all positive- I suspect Sheila stopped coming because of some stuff Mahoney said.

7 Responses to Cruel Summer

  1. Omega Dork says:

    What is it you do for a living?

  2. Mahoney (the keyboard warrior) says:

    dYour blog appeals to men at the bottom of the social/sexual barrel, its inevitable that a lot of weirdoes come out of the woodworks. Not to worry, I employ an honest self estimation of my status. Shelia didn’t run away because of what I said, because she stuck around long after I uttered my most offensive remark. I was fond of Sheila, she gave me a endearing, masochistic sense of pleasure and reassurance. Even if she was a feminist lawyer cunt, I don’t think she was as hypergamous as the typical western woman the manosphere loves to pick on.

  3. Candice says:

    I have found that being very direct is essential for clear communication with many people as not all can work things out for themselves or take hints (this explains my directness in the following paragraphs).

    Mahoney is correct – association with people possessing valuable knowledge, insights, skills etc helps one develop into a better person. Our esteemed blogger is one such person and this is why I visit his blog.

    While we are being very direct – has anybody thought that they are excluded from the social company of people, especially females, they view as “high class” (or attractive) because of offensive language and offensive stereotyping? Nothing to do with “omega” status – just straight repulsion due to behaviour.

    Yes there are women that are exceedingly rough and very nice people, but there are also some very nice ladies that don’t hang out with people that swear and disrespect them.

    The traditional Australian male may talk “rough” with his male mates and “politely” with ladies or when in public. Hence, there is a greater chance of learning from, meeting and marrying ladies of quallity – I could cite a few cases.

    OK – end of rave! Sorry if I offended anyone! 🙂 C

    • I don’t think that happens very much. Guys who have trouble with women tend to be very shy. If they did anything socially inappropriate it would be by accident and not of the nature of being crude.

  4. NMH says:

    I don’t think women would now classify me as an omega (although they would have 10-15 years ago) but even as a beta, I have learned you must develop a very thick skin with women, especially the sexually attractive ones. Almost all of the few sweet, polite, kind women around my parts are 6’s and below. & on up usually equals difficult.

    As Scott Peck says, life is difficult.

  5. Sheila Tone says:

    I didn’t exactly stop. What happened was, my Internet time was curtailed even further because one of my sons started kindergarten and homework takes 1-2 hours a night. Also you stopped writing much. I come for you, not the commenters.

  6. joel020784 says:

    Learn to code HTML/CSS or better yet Javascript & MySQL & PHP. I am an employer and people who know those things are desperately needed. Anyone can learn, its relatively straightforward. A couple books and a dedicated month will get you started.

Leave a Reply

