Amy Winehouse, RIP

What does Amy Winehouse have to do with this? Well, she had a serious problem she couldn’t overcome. I read a famous blogger saying, she wanted to die, so be it. But she didn’t want to die. She wanted to have a healthy, happy, joyful life, like almost all other human beings. But she had a drug problem, and I suspect the worst thing about having a drug problem is all the people telling you get over it, just stop, go to rehab, why are you doing this, blah blah blah.

I was thinking the other day for some reason about Hugh O’Connor, son of actor Carroll O’Connor. He appeared with his father on the TV show “In the Heat of the Night”. He had a cocaine problem, and finally committed suicide. I read he was supposed to go back to rehab, but couldn’t face it. On top of the pain of getting off the drug, you have all these people moralizing to you. And you have to spend the rest of your life going to meetings, which is like a bad evangelical church. I can see why killing yourself or overdosing might look like a better alternative.

Psychology and therapy are very moralistic. If only you would try hard enough, or push yourself hard enough, then you would be successful and not be such a loser.

I think eventually they will come up with pharmaceutical treatments for drug and alcohol addiction that will be far more effective and less painful than what is done now with addicts.

The advice now for socially inept people tends to be along the lines of “Subject yourself to many painful and distressing experiences and you will improve.” Talking to a couple people with experience with addicts, these people often have not had a good childhood, and what seems to help them is learning to enjoy life and be happy with positive experiences without using drugs.

Being with people should be happy and joyful. I would like to learn how to make it like that.

9 Responses to Amy Winehouse, RIP

  1. sestamibi says:

    As a landssman myself, I can only gape in disbelief at what has become of Jewish womanhood in the 21st Century, as the example here suggests. My first reaction would be to think that she had it coming to her, but then I step back and remember that Amy’s father Mitch (who is about my age) has to live and grieve over his daughter’s death.

    RIP Amy. I wish you had chosen a different career path.

    Oseh shalom b’im romav. Hu ya’aseh shalom aleinu v’al kol yisroel, v’yimru amen.

    • Mahoney (the keyboard warrior) says:

      dMan, could you tell again the story of your life of perpetual involuntary celibacy and then meeting your wife. I find it to be such an inspiring tale for the omega males of the world. I’d love to hear all the details again. Generally speaking any talk about the needle in the haystack is just self deluding, indulgent bullshit, but for us omegas I really think that the enduring hope is absolute essential for us not to sink into a black pit of depression. Also we aren’t left with many options other than to search out for a woman that is truly an exception to the rule, seeing as how only a woman that is truly different will ever accept an omega male as a mate.
      As a 23 year old omega, virgin, I hope I can be as lucky as you were in finding your wife.

      • sestamibi says:

        Hard to tell if your post is sincere or merely dripping with sarcasm. I’ll assume the former, and leave you with the following advice:

        There’s no guarantee that you will get (as you say) lucky any more than I did.

        You have to have an incredibly thick skin to put up with the abuse you can expect to get from 99% of the vicious cunts out there.

        You have to play the numbers. The more approaches you make, the better the odds.

        You are 23. You have a long way to go, and I hope you get what you want sooner rather than later. However, should that not happen, you will eventually lose interest as per biology (most likely in your mid-40s), and will be able to appreciate the freedom rather than bemoan the loneliness.

  2. Candice says:

    It is very difficult for people with addictive personalities – there is a gene for alcoholism on the maternal side of the family and I have observed it across 3 generations – sad and desperate lives. I tend to think poor Amy had few resources to resist and easy access to the poison she craved. May she find peace…

  3. Mahoney (the keyboard warrior) says:

    Seriously woulld it kill you to actually take this blog somewhat seriously, you obviously don’t give a shit. GOd, you have so much material, yet you decide to selfishly keep it all to yourself. Not give a shit. Do unto us what the world has so cruelly done unto you. Either you don’t give a fuck or your a lazy cunt, they”re simply isn’t any alternative explanations. What the hell ever happened to Shelia Tone, I really miss her commentary.

  4. Mahoney (the keyboard warrior) says:

    dMr Omega,

    Please accept my sincere apologies for my previous comment. I have a really reprehensible habit of getting shitfaced drunk and leaving inflammatory comments in a desperate bid to receive attention, any attention. Its embarrassing, but after to many drinks I can’t seem to help myself. I’m truly sorry for littering your blog with my shitty comment.

  5. Candice says:

    Maybe just erase Mahoney’s comments … we all do silly things and I think its best just to keep the sunshine and let go the rain …

  6. Emma the Emo says:

    “Subject yourself to many painful and distressing experiences and you will improve.”
    ..that actually works against some addictions and persistent problems… But when it comes to being socially inept, it depends on how socially inept you are. If you have social anxiety disorder or something close to it, this will not work, but will send you to ER with panic attacks (if you have those).

Leave a Reply

