Again!

There is a quaint myth that if you stand up to a bully, they will back down and not fuck with you anymore and you will win the love and respect of all. Hey, that’s what happened in “Back to the Future”! In reality, maybe, or maybe they will beat the crap out of you and everybody will think you’re a loser.

But maybe you have to do it anyway. My retarded boss couldn’t cope with me insisting on doing things the legal, safe, professional way so he found somebody who I suppose will grovel and kiss his ass. Diplomacy and patience are not my strong points but dealing with a slow 8-year old with ADD in an old man’s body will put anyone to the test. The other guy who works for him seems to just let him do whatever he wants; I don’t roll like that.

Not a good time to be out of a job but I will just have to get hustling.

5 Responses to Again!

  1. Sheila Tone says:

    I’m sorry. I’m having a similar problem with a subordinate, believe it or not. She works for me, but absolutely refuses to take any direction from me. When I bring errors to her attention she gets accusatory and tries to bully me. This is a problem I have had with many female clerical employees — they seem to think because I am younger, and overworked, and don’t like to tell people what to do, that they can work slowly and sloppily and try to intimidate me when I call them on it.

    There was a discussion I tried to have with her this afternoon, that turned into one of those arguments you were talking about where the woman overtalks you and yaps like a crazed dog until you capitulate.

  2. Sheila Tone says:

    And I think that quaint myth is believed mainly by people who have never had to deal with any real interpersonal challenges. So they pat themselves on the back and tell themselves that people treat them well because they’re such strong people, rather than because their situation or status just makes them lucky.

  3. Sheila Tone says:

    Come on, don’t we get any details? Did you at least get to tell him off?

    • As of now I’m just letting it go. I would like to see him closed down, as he’s not fit to be perating that business, but that will never happen. I don’t really want to go into the details as I don’t want to give out too much information.

      The bad employees are difficult. The military way of communicating and supervising people is very effective and efficient, but as I found after getting out seems to horrify the modern American civilian. The typical employee seems to believe you should gain their friendship and love and that should motivate them to work.

      I ran across an excellent leadership/management book I read a long time ago, “Small Unit Leadership” by Dandridge Malone. It’s the best and most succinct thing I’ve seen on supervising people. You might look into “When I Say No I Feel Guilty” which outlines techniques for dealing with verbal manipulation. I see even women have trouble with the word ambush!

  4. MackDamage says:

    I just came across your web-site . You have some good game on here . keep up the good work playa!

    Check out my blog as well??
    http://realmacktalk.blogspot.com/

    Peace……..

Leave a Reply

