Suit Up!

Can I just say that “How I Met Your Mother” and the Barney character were ruined for me when I found out Neil Patrick Harris was gay? The willful suspension of disbelief only goes so far. American Airlines doesn’t show it anymore so I never see it but still I’m disappointed.

It’s still a great catchphrase though. Suit up! In our underdressed¬†world it’s great advice.

Virgil Kent expounds on the ideal suit-

http://vksempireofdirt.com/?p=1376

The rule has long been that if you have one suit, make it a blue one. But as he says, it’s too business for social use. I actually have a black suit, which I only bought because they were having a two for one and there was no other suit they had I wanted. The primary suit I was buying is charcoal gray, which looks great but may be too dark for the purposes he is talking about. I think a medium gray in a trim cut would be ideal.

I have not been dressing up, not taking my own advice. The easy answer is, “I’m just doing X, going to X, why bother?” But you may see a woman you want to talk to, and I guarantee she will like to talk to a nicely dressed guy over another lazy dude in a polo shirt, blue jeans and running shoes. It’s just the female mentality.

And habits are habits- establish a good one and it stays with you. I swear I’ll start dressing up more tomorrow.

4 Responses to Suit Up!

  1. Willy Wonka says:

    Yeah, VK had a good post on the grey suit.

    “The rule has long been that if you have one suit, make it a blue one.”

    I’ve never heard that before. I’ve also never owned or worn a blue suit…

  2. The blue suit rule may be somewhat out of date. I’m in my mid 40’s and that was the case when I was younger.

  3. Thursday says:

    The first season where Ted acts like a total supplicating beta and still gets Robin were among most nauseating “nice guy gets nice girl” fantasies ever put on screen. You’re right though that Barney kind of saves the show, even if NPH is gay.

Leave a Reply

