I’ve Seen Things You People Wouldn’t Believe……

I have always thought Roy Baty’s (played by Rutger Hauer) monologue at the end of Blade Runner sort of summed up my life, so I include it for you here.

Roy Baty isn’t really a bad guy; he just wants, desperately, to live. Decker realizes in the end that Baty could have killed him but didn’t because at the end Baty loved and valued life, even Decker’s life, the man who was trying to kill him. Baty accepts his short, limited life for what it was and what value it had.

When I was in Marine OCS our barracks were next to the Replacement and Separation Platoon, which was where those who washed out were kept while being processed out. On top of failure they had to endure a few days of going to formation and to chow in civilian clothes. One day we were out for inspection and I looked up at the cattle car passing by with the unfortunates, and caught the eye of one. He gave me a thumbs up; he himself had failed but he was invested in the process, and wanted to see someone else succeed. I did, just barely, but that is another story.

One Response to I’ve Seen Things You People Wouldn’t Believe……

  1. virginat50 says:

    A great speech from a great movie. Probably Rutger Hauer’s finest performance.

Leave a Reply

