Happy New Year

Happy New Year.

I’m not feeling terribly optimistic these days. On the bad days you hope things won’t get too much worse, and then they do. On the good days you hope they will stay tha way, and they don’t.

All one can really do is keep trying and keep learning. I have thought about some of my early experiences and I’m surprised and how determined and tenacious I was. I had a lot of desire to overcome and get past the bad times, and I did some things that were pretty impressive. I don’t think a man can live on adrenaline forever though.

Maybe I can’t do it with the same determination I did when I was young, but I can still keep trying. I hope you will too.

4 Responses to Happy New Year

  1. Grey says:

    Happy new year, dude.

    I think you’re helping a lot more men than you realize with your writing. Just about every post has resonated with me and something I’ve thought or experienced at one time or another. Like you, I wish I had that sort of clarity of thought at an earlier point in life.

    Never too late to gain the advantage. Press on.

  2. krauserpua says:

    Perhaps you’ve just plateaued. I used to get intensely dissatisfied at my boxing at times, feeling like I was making backward progress. But then I’d actually look at who I was sparring compared to a year ago and realise how far I’d actually come. The human mind is always out to trick you.

  3. strikeforcemorituri says:

    You know I sometimes feel this way as well, I have learned that learning something way different than what you usually do helps to spark the interest that you may already have. Try doing that for awhile and see what happens.

  4. Susan Walsh says:

    For what it’s worth, I think this blog is pretty impressive. Your directness, honesty and willingness to share so much of your own experience is amazing. It’s a very, very generous thing.

    I know you think certain people have it made, and perhaps some of them do, especially the users, the ones who do all the taking. They are not kept awake at night by their own misdeeds. But I hear from a lot of hot women who get offered no love, only sex. And a lot of guys I’d call beta, or gamma, trying to find a way to get in there with girls. Mostly, being human sucks a lot of the time. Don’t give up, though. I think you make a real difference. You have a unique voice.

Leave a Reply

